School Directory

To avoid class disruption and maximize student learning, we do not publish direct extensions to our classrooms.  If you wish to contact a teacher, please call the school receptionist at 928.738.5111 to leave a message.  Thank you.

Superintendent

Name Title Contact at
Steven Berbeco, Ed.D. Superintendent 928.738.1401
superintendent@hjshs.org
Vernita Selestewa Administrative Assistant 928.738.1402
vselestewa@hjshs.org
High School
Name Title Contact at
Lynn Fredericks High School Principal 928.738.1405
hs@hjshs.org
Eileen Navakuku Administrative Assistant 928.738.1406
enavakuku@hjshs.org
Ron Carpenter English Teacher, Dept Chair rcarpenter@hjshs.org
Jerry Jirak English Teacher jjirak@hjshs.org
Nona Edelson English Teacher nedelson@hjshs.org
Laverne Lomakema Math Teacher, Dept Chair llomakema@hjshs.org
Dustin Pollock Math Teacher dpollock@hjshs.org
Michael Tenakhongva Math Teacher mtenakhongva@hjshs.org
Jan Sangster Math Teacher asangster@hjshs.org
LaVonne Honyouti Science Teacher, Dept Chair lhonyouti@hjshs.org
Rodney Harris Science Teacher rharris@hjshs.org
Marietta Riggs Science Teacher mriggs@hjshs.org
James Lomakema Social Studies Teacher jlomakema@hjshs.org
Gerald Flud Social Studies Teacher gflud@hjshs.org
Ben Lawrence Social Studies Teacher blawrence@hjshs.org
Farron Lomakema Alternative Teacher flomakema@hjshs.org
Mary Duwyenie Art Teacher mduwyenie@hjshs.org
Thomas Irwin Band Teacher tirwin@hjshs.org
Emma Talashoma Culinary Arts Teacher talashoma@hjshs.org
MAJ James Cox JROTC Teacher jcox@hjshs.org
SGM Larry Newton JROTC Teacher lnewton@hjshs.org
LaNeal Pewewardy Native American Studies Teacher lpewewardy@hjshs.org
Anita Poleahla Hopi Language Teacher apoleahla@hjshs.org
Cornelia Yazzie Navajo Language Teacher cyazzie@hjshs.org
Javier Linarté Spanish Language Teacher jlinarte@hjshs.org
Stan Bindell Journalism Teacher sbindell@hjshs.org
Ricky Baker Physical Education Teacher rbaker@hjshs.org
Michael Bilagody Computer Teacher mbilagody@hjshs.org
Vacant Computer Graphic Arts Teacher hs@hjshs.org
James Phillips Weight Lifting Teacher jphillips@hjshs.org
Vacant Welding Teacher hs@hjshs.org
Ambrose Benally Carpentry Teacher abenally@hjshs.org
Junior High School
Name Title Contact at
Alban Naha Junior High School Principal 928.738.1410
jhs@hjshs.org
Trinette Bahnimptewa Administrative Assistant 928.738.1411
tbahnimptewa@hjshs.org
Kay Lowe Language Arts Teacher klowe@hjshs.org
Pamela Yazzie Language Arts Teacher pyazzie@hjshs.org
Vacant English Teacher jhs@hjshs.org
Carol Sieweyumptewa English Teacher csieweyumptewa@hjshs.org
Dorothy Nahsonhoya Math Teacher dnahsonhoya@hjshs.org
Raleigh Namoki Math Teacher rnamoki@hjshs.org
Juwan Nuvayokva Physical Education Teacher jnuvayokva@hjshs.org
Eva Bahnimptewa Science Teacher ebahnimptewa@hjshs.org
Grace Mahkewa Science Teacher gmahkewa@hjshs.org
Special Education (SPED)
Name Title Contact at
Pamela Engstrom Director 928.738.1420
sped@hjshs.org
Colleen Secakuku Administrative Assistant 928.738.1421
cnavakuku@hjshs.org
Jane Broomfield SPED Teacher jbroomfield@hjshs.org
Lautrina Patterson SPED Teacher lpatterson@hjshs.org
Pete Butler SPED Teacher sped@hjshs.org
Vacant SPED Teacher sped@hjshs.org
Library
Name Title Contact at
Valerie Martin Librarian 928.738.1425
vmartin@hjshs.org
Front Desk Library 928.738.1426
School Climate

Name Title Contact at
Jerry Cronin Dean of Students 928.738.1414
dean@hjshs.org
Alice Whiterock Administrative Assistant 928.738.1428
awhiterock@hjshs.org
Lacretia Ellsworth Academic Counselor (Grades 11-12) 928.738.1408
lellsworth@hjshs.org@hjshs.org
Anna Burbank Academic Counselor (Grades 9-10) 928.738.1412
aburbank@hjshs.org
Vacant Academic Counselor (Grades 7-8) 928.738.1407
dean@hjshs.org
Brendalee Lopez Alcohol and Substance Abuse Counselor (Grades 9-12) 928.738.1409
blopez@hjshs.org
Dempsey Davis Alcohol and Substance Abuse Counselor (Grades 7-8) 928.738.1413
ddavis@hjshs.org
Andreana Burton School Health Technician 928.738.1424
aburton@hjshs.org
Student Information and Federal Programs

Name Title Contact at
Vacant Federal Programs Director 928.738.1418
federalprograms@hjshs.org
Terri Honani Parent Liason 928.738.1403
thonani@hjshs.org
John Lomavaya Registrar 928.738.1415
registrar@hjshs.org
Dione Naha Attendance Clerk 928.738.1416
attendance@hjshs.org
Athletics and Activities
Name Title Contact at
Ricky Greer Athletic And Activities Director 928.738.1430
athletics@hjshs.org
Shirley Tomosie Administrative Assistant 928.738.1431
stomosie@hjshs.org
Human Resources
Name Title Contact at
Dakota Francis Human Resources Technician 928.738.1504
hr@hjshs.org
Security Office
Name Title Contact at
Walker Ami Security Officer 928.738.1429
wami@hjshs.org
Chad Dann Security Officer 928.738.1429
cdann@hjshs.org
Barry Honyouti Security Officer 928.738.1429
bhonyouti@hjshs.org
Erik Morningstar Security Officer 928.738.1429
emorningstar@hjshs.org
Transportation
Name Title Contact at
Lyle Laban Transportation Supervisor 928.738.1442
llaban@hjshs.org
Michelle Batala Administrative Assistant 928.738.1443
mbatala@hjshs.org
Facilities
Name Title Contact at
Garlyn Navakuku Facilities Manager 928.738.1440
gnavakuku@hjshs.org
Althea Poneoma Lead Custodian 928.738.1441
aponeoma@hjshs.org
Cafeteria
Name Title Contact at
Roselyn Dempsey-Jim Cafeteria Manager 928.738.1432
rdempseyjim@hjshs.org
Rozina Talaswaima Cafeteria Foreman 928.738.1433
rtalaswaima@hjshs.org
Business Office
Name Title Contact at
Patrick Secakuku Business Manager 928.738.1435
psecakuku@hjshs.org
Maxine Silas Payroll Clerk 928.738.1436
msilas@hjshs.org
Cindi Collateta Procurement Clerk 928.738.1437
ccolateta@hjshs.org
Miriam Tahbo Banker 928.738.1438
mtahbo@hjshs.org
Guy Josytewa Property and Supply Clerk 928.738.1439
gjosytewa@hjshs.org
Education Technology
Name Title Contact at
Technology Coordinator 928.738.1444
technology@hjshs.org
Tee-Jay Youvvella Technology Support Specialist 928.738.1445
tyouvella@hjshs.org
Loris Leslie Technology Support Specialist 928.738.1445
lleslie@hjshs.org